In love with…5 February must-haves

Hey lovebirds,

Snow is falling and winter has finally come to Strasbourg. Now here’s how to survive winter with a few basics.

  1. hand creme: I’m sure you all know the feeling when it starts getting cold and your skin dries up? Yup? Well, i hate that kind of feeling…so in order to avoid the inconvenience, I’ve decided to use hand cream instead. My favourite one is from L’Occitane, a French brand that I discovered when I lived in Australia. (yes I obviously had to go that far) Lucky me, my beautiful host mum knows how to appreciate French products and was kind enough to introduce me to it and I’ve loved it since. My favourite is the rose one. Click here to check out their website and even do some online shopping.

    P.aspx

    Photo from loccitane.com

  2. tea: I tend to drink too little on a day. Sipping tea doesn’t only help you drink enough water, it can also help you detox and keeps you warm! My favourite tea at the moment (or let’s say ever since I discovered it two years ago) is Kusmi tea (who would have guessed?) They have all sorts of flavours: green tea, white tea, black tea, detox. Difficult to be disappointed really. Their tea comes in boxes which could also be a lovely birthday present.
  3. lip balm: Nobody likes kissing chapped lips, am I right? Now as a lip balm addict, here are some of my favourites. Aloe Lips is my all-time favourite lip balm. It’s a natural product made of aloe, jojoba and beeswax and is suitable for all seasons.
    Lucas’Pawpaw Ointment: a natural Australian product made of pawpaw (who would have guessed?) Every Aussie girl has one in her bag!DSC_0367
  4. a good book: I personally see winter as a time to calm down a bit and do some reading for myself. Throughout the busyness of the year I collect a list of books that I wanna read when I’ve finally found the time to do so. Here’s what’s on my January list:
    – Tales from the Back Row: An Outsider’s View from Inside the Fashion Industry – by Amy Odell

    51lnHk+SJxL

    photo from amazon.com

    The Alchemist – by Paulo Coelho: a classic that I still haven’t managed to read.

    Sommerregen der Liebe: Goethe und Frau von Stein – von Sigrid Damm. Published in November 2015. Goethe’s love letters newly interpreted.

    51hkuU+sQsL

    photo from amazon.com

  5. a warm and cozy beanie: They say you lose most of your body temperature over the head and feet. So wearing a beanie is somehow important to keep your whole body warm. I like varying my beanies, so I bought a burgundy red/violet-ish headband at H&M this winter. It looks very retro and I’m in love with it.

Bisou, M

Leave a Reply

